American Girl Doll Events

wpagbHearthside House: 677 Great Road, Lincoln, RI  02865 401-726-0597  The Tea event led to a Christmas event, and eventually to a Garden Party held in August. All of the American Girl Doll events continue to be quite popular and have given hundreds of girls and their families some very special memories from their experience. All three of these annual events center around the American Girl Doll historical character Samantha Parkington, a nine-year old orphan raised by her wealthy and very proper grandmother in 1904. That story coincides with the year that Hearthside got its name and really captures the essence of what it was like growing up in Victorian America. History comes to life and is made more interesting for the girls as they experience firsthand in an actual mansion how Samantha lived during the first years of the 20th century. 2016 Event Dates: June 4 and 5: American Girl Doll Tea Weekend (12:30 & 2:30 pm); August 6: American Girl Doll Garden Party (12 & 2:30 pm); December 3: American Girl Doll Christmas Party (members-only) (12:30 & 2:30 pm)  Google Map
Website

Assembly Building & Theatre

Assembly Theatre26 East Avenue Burrillville, RI 02830  401-568-4300×137 Built in 1933, this historic building is situated along the banks of the picturesque Mill Pond and is the location of the annual Burrillville Arts Festival. The Assembly Building is where the Theatre Company of Rhode Island makes its home and it is the desire of the Board of Administration to utilize this historic structure for more activities, both cultural and family oriented. Theatre performances range from plays, musicals, music, magic,  dance recitals, and children’s plays in addition to workshops. Google Map
Website

Blackstone River Valley National Historical Park

National Heritage Corridor Commission One Depot Square Woonsocket, RI 02895  (401) 762-0250  Fax: (401) 762-0530  The Blackstone River runs from Worcester, MA to Providence, RI. Its waters powered the Slater Mill in Pawtucket, RI, America’s first successful cotton spinning mill. This creative spark began the nation’s transformation from Farm to Factory. Today, the Blackstone River Valley is a special type of National Park – a living landscape containing thousands of natural and historic treasures. Google Map
Website

Brown & Hopkins Country Store

Brown & Hopkins1179 Putnam Pike (Rte 44), P.O. Box L Chepachet RI  02814 401-568-4830 America’s oldest continuously operated country store specializing in country/primitive home accessories and gifts, antique reproduction furniture and lighting. Also featuring old fashioned penny candy counter, New England gourmet specialties such as jams & jellies from Stonewall Kitchen, and Vermont Cheddar Cheese. Coffee, tea and seasonal beverages served as part of The Brown & Hopkins Charity Coffee Club. Google Map
Website

Captain Wilbur Kelly House Transportation Museum

Captain Wilbur Kelly HouseBlackstone River State Park, Lower River Rd. Lincoln, RI 02865 401-333-0295  It’s where all of the transportation stories of the Blackstone River Valley come together. Situated between the Blackstone River and the Blackstone Canal, the museum shows the history of the river and canal as a means of transportation from the Native American peoples to the pinnacle of the Industrial Revolution. Open daily April – October, 9 am – 4:30 pm. Google Map

Chase Farm

Great Rd., Rte. 123 Lincoln, RI 02865 401-333-1100 Thomas Arnold originally purchased the land at Chase Farm in 1661. In the late 1800’s, the Chase Family started a dairy farm on the land, and delivered milk door to door until 1965. This was one of the last working farms in Lincoln, purchased by the Town and preserved for its historical value and open space. The Butterfly Gardens, which are maintained by volunteers, serves as a focal point to this scenic landscape. Now preserved as green space, it is used for a number of activities such as summer concerts, sledding, hiking and other special events. Google Map

Chepachet Village

Chepachet VillageAlong Rte. 44 Glocester RI  02839I    Chepachet Village takes visitors back into the early 19th century where they can relive what the area was like around 1810, when it was a major stop along stagecoach routes and a northern Rhode Island mercantile center. Viewers can visit numerous antique and collectible shops, eat at fine restaurants such as the Purple Cat and Stagecoach Tavern, or visit the Brown & Hopkins General Store, in business since 1809. In the northern end of town, where Route 44 passes the junction of Routes 100 and 102, sits a barn-like structure called Old Chepachet Village. Nearby, artist Nancy Chase crafts stained glass items at the Holidaze Stained Glass Studio. Management area, basketball, boat Ramp, canoeing, freshwater fishing, kayaking, lake or river access, playground, rollerskating, shuffleboard, cross-country skiing, freshwater swimming, tennis court, bird watching trail, hiking trail, jogging trail, skatebaording, shopping. Google Map
Website

Chocolate Mill Overlook

Chocolate Mill OverlookBlackstone Valley Tourism Council  175 Main St. Pawtucket, RI  02860 401-724-2200  PARK LOCATION: Corner of Roosevelt Avenue and Charles Street, Central Falls, RI 02863
Park commemorates the chocolate manufacturing industry in America and Central Falls.  Includes access to the Blackstone River. Google Map
Website

Daggett House

Daggett House Slater Park, 825 Armistice Blvd. Pawtucket, RI  02861 401-722-6931  The oldest standing house in Pawtucket, furnished with outstanding antiques, including Colonial Pewter used in the Revolutionary War and China owned by Gen. & Mrs. Nathanael Greene and the Daggett Family. Eight generations of Daggetts lived on the farm, now known as Slater Park. The house was leased in 1902 by the Pawtucket Chapter of the Daughters of the American Revolution (DAR) who began its restoration. Hosts weddings. Google Map
Website

Eleazer Arnold House

Eleazer Arnold House 487 Great Rd. Lincoln, RI 02865 401-728 -9696 617-227-3956 Unique stone-ender, 17th century dwelling. Its most distinctive feature is the great stone-end chimney that makes up the western end of the house Owned by the Society for the Preservation of New England Antiquities. The house is open on the 4th Saturday of each month, 1:00 – 4:00 pm. Hosts weddings. Google Map
Website

Friends Meeting House

Friends Meeting House 374 Great Rd. Lincoln, RI 02865 401-245-5660  Oldest meeting house in continuous use. This Meetinghouse, built in 1704 and expanded in 1745, exhibits the plainness and simplicity which 18th-century Quakers mandated in their lives. This meeting was the center of Quaker life in northern Rhode Island for several decades and the home of the Providence Monthly Meeting after 1718. The beauty of this building is not in elaborate details but in how simply it suits its purpose and in the craft and fine workmanship in the handling of materials. A large cemetery, resting place of many of these early friends, adjoins the meetinghouse. Open for tours the 3rd Saturday of the month, 1 – 4 pm. Google Map

Great Road Historic District

Great RoadRte. 123 Lincoln. RI 02865 A 4.5 mile stretch of road containing a series of structures ranging from the 17th to the 19th centuries with little interruption by modern intrusions. 300 years of history in 3 miles. Tours available at many of the historic locations. Google Map
Website

Hannaway Blacksmith Shop

Hannaway Blacksmith Shop 671 Great Rd.Lincoln, RI 02865 401-333-1100×289 One-story, barn-like structure built in the late 19th century, recently restored as a demonstration workshop.  Turn-of-the-century blacksmithing demonstrations and classes at an operating forge are held Saturday and Sunday mornings year round from 8 a.m. to noon, helping to keep this old time craft alive for future generations. Visitors can stop in and experience the ring of the anvil and the odor of coal and hot steel as blacksmiths forge pieces of the metal into hinges, nails, and other household items. Also located within the Hannaway Shop is a wheelwright shop where visitors can watch repairs being done on old wooden wheels from carriages and wagons alongside the blacksmith. Google Map
Website

Harrisville Center

 105 Harrisville Main St. Harrisville RI  02830 401-568-4300 Seat of the town government, Harrisville is a combination of riverside crossroads and a manufacturing village. Many of the quaint public buildings were built, moved, or renovated by Austin Levy, owner of the Stillwater Worsted Mills. The colonial brick buildings include the Town Hall, library, the Assembly, post office and courthouse. Google Map

Hearthside House Museum

Hearthside House677 Great Road  Lincoln, RI 02865 401-726-0597  Unique stone mansion was built in 1810 on pastoral Great Road, the first road through the wilderness between Providence and Mendon, Massachusetts, and one of the oldest thoroughfares in America. Listed on the National Register of Historic Places, Hearthside is beautifully preserved by the volunteer organization, Friends of Hearthside, who serve as stewards of the property to preserve, promote, and interpret it. Costumed docents help bring history to life at this award-winning museum with guided tours and specially-themed historic events. Check website for scheduled openings.  Google Map
Website

Historical Road Rally and Tour

wpcumberlandtourCumberland Recreation Department: 4097 Diamond Hill Rd.  Cumberland, RI  02864 Discover Cumberland’s scenic back roads with the 2nd annual event, a guided tour impossible to get lost on… all one has to do is follow the step by step instructions provided and answer questions…the answers of which will always be located between one instruction and the next. The entire idea is to catch the answer to the questions as you ride and enjoy the route, the scenery and the historical element of it…all of which is also designed to distract you from the catching all of the answers to the questions! That’s as tricky as it gets!!! All participants will be provided with a detailed “Trip Tik” and all questions will be answerable without the needs of smartphones!  All you need is a driver and a good navigator – but this is also a family event so bring the kids! Guaranteed fun and extremely interesting! 2016 Date: May 21, 2016 Google Map
Website  Gift Shop

 

 

Jenks Park

Jenks ParkBroad St. Central Falls, RI 02863 401-727-7455 Built on land donated to the city by Alvin Jenks in 1890, the Park contains the Cogswell Clock Tower, erected in 1904. The Tower stands atop Dexter’s Ledge, which was used as an Indian lookout during King Phillip’s War in 1676. There is no charge to climb. Google Map
Website  

Job Armstrong Store

Job Armstrong Store1181 Main St. Chepachet RI 02814 401-568-4077 The largest of the 13 dry goods stores in the village in the early 1800’s. It is now a living museum with artisans demonstrating crafts of ancestors – spinning, weaving, quilting, and rug hooking. Crafts are on sale in the restored Country Store and a number of events are held on an annual basis. Headquarters of Glocester Heritage Society and a Visitor Center are located here. Google Map
Website

Looff Carousel

Looff CarouselSlater Park, 825 Armistice Blvd.  Pawtucket, RI 02861 401-728-00500×252 Historic carousel built in 1895 is one of the few remaining and oldest stander carousels in the country. The carousel contains 50 animals and 2 chariots and features a turntable moving at 9 miles per hour. It was installed in the park in 1910 and partially restored in 1978. Google Map
Website

Moffett Mill

Moffett Mill585 Great Rd. Lincoln, RI 02865 Built by George Olney along Great Road in 1812, the Moffett Mill is a unique survivor from the early 19th century. Resting along the Moshassuck River next to Chase Farm Park, this small mill is believed to be the first machine shop constructed in Rhode Island and is a rare example of a wooden mill built during the first wave of industrialization in the Blackstone Valley. Arnold Moffett purchased the mill in 1850 and built the stone dam that still stands. The mill has been abandoned since the early part of the 1900s and was donated to the Town of Lincoln in the 1980s. It has recently been renovated with new exhibits and its original tools still in tact. Because of difficulty accessing the site safely along this busy roadway, the opening of the mill to visitors will be limited. An interpretive panel located near the entrance to Chase Farm Park will help inform visitors as to the importance of this rare treasure. Google Map
Website

Monastery & Nine Men’s Misery

Monastery & Nine Men's MiseryRte. 114, Diamond Hill Road Cumberland. RI 02864 401-728-2400 Site of a former Cistercian Monastery, where Captain Michael Pierce’s comrades made their last stand, and were put to death by the Indians in King Philip’s War. Portions of the original monastery buildings are still intact despite a fire in the 1950’s. Home to the Cumberland Public Library. Also contains jogging and walking trails, and horseback riding is allowed. Google Map

North Gate Toll House

Old Louisquisset Pike, Rte. 246 Lincoln, RI 02865 401-725-2847 401-334-2705 Built in 1807, it served as a toll-house for the Louisquisset Turnpike Co. and as a hotel in the mid-1800’s. Includes a library with holdings pertaining to the Blackstone Valley, a small museum room with early 18th century furniture and a meeting hall and stage with unique illustrated curtains. It is also home of the Blackstone Valley Historical Society. Open for monthly meetings, special events and by appointment. Google Map
Website

Pawtucket Veterans Memorial Park

Corner of Exchange St. and Roosevelt Avenue, Pawtucket, RI 02860  401-728-0500, Ext. 225  The recently completed park, overlooking the Blackstone River, contains a monument to all Pawtucket veterans and an amphitheater area seating 225 persons with a covered stage. Google Map
Website

Pierce Park & Riverwalk

Pierce Park & RiverwalkHigh St. Central Falls, RI 02863 401-727-8400 Site of Captain Michael Pierce’s fight with the natives as part of the King Phillip’s War in March of 1976, it is the city’s first riverfront park and includes a scenic overlook, riverbank walkway and recreational facilities. Google Map
Website

Rhode Island Music Hall of Fame

999 Main Street, #100 Pawtucket, RI 02860 401-225-8860 Commemorates Rhode Island’s great musical heritage and history through the election of members to a hall of fame, building of a museum containing exhibits commemorating members and other aspects of state music history, and developing programs aimed at promoting past and present music throughout the state. Google Map
Website

Slater Memorial Park

Slater Park825 Armistice Boulevard Pawtucket RI 02861 401-728-0500×257 Offers 18 picnic sites, tennis courts and ballfields, paddle boating (swan boats), gardens, dog park, walking paths, pony rides, the historic 1685 Daggett House and historic Looff Carousel, built in 1895. Pony rides for kids take place in the old zoo area that is now set up like a small farm. The Marconi Gardens, near the Armistice Boulevard entrance, is a popular spot for wedding photos, and include a footbridge and gazebo. Permits are required for photos. The Casino houses the RI Watercolor Society Art Gallery. 1 mile of trail in the Ten Mile River Greenway is open with an additional 1.5 mile segment from Slater Park to the Kimberly Ann Rock Athletic Fields in East Providence is substantially complete. Winter Wonderland, Haunted House and other events take place here. Google Map
Website

Slater Mill Museum

Slater Mill Museum67 Roosevelt Ave., PO Box 696  Pawtucket, RI 02862  401-725-8638 Experience the birthplace of modern America. Try spinning and weaving in the Sylvanus Brown House, built in 1758 originally for the Jencks family. See waterpower run a 19th century machine shop in the Wilkinson Mill built in 1810 and hear the rumble of operating machinery in Slater Mill, built in 1793, where it all began. All educational programs are curriculum-based and can be adapted to learn objectives and capabilities of the group. Special programming available. Private visits can be designed especially for your needs. Tours available. Museum Shop, physically accessible and bus parking on-site. Hosts weddings with capacity of 130.  Music concerts are held throughout the year. Google Map
Website  Gift Shop

Smith-Appleby House

220 Stillwater Rd. Smithfield, RI 02917 401-231-7363 Began as a one-room stone-ender with a loft above. It was built (circa 1696) by Elisha Smith, the grandson of John Smith “The Miller,” a member of Roger Williams’ original party of six men who left the Massachusetts Bay Colony to settle in Providence. The size of the house was doubled (circa 1730) when a two-room addition was brought to the site and attached to the original house. Other additions and modifications were made over the years to accommodate the family. The last addition was made (circa 1813), when a new modern kitchen with beehive oven was added, bringing the house to its present twelve rooms with varied designs and original stencils. The forty acres of land granted to John Smith by Roger Williams increased to over 700 acres during Elisha’s lifetime. It has since dwindled to the present seven acres. Over the years, the House’s farmlands, woodlands and orchards have been the site of a grist mill, a saw mill and a blacksmith shop. This delicately restored and furnished farm house features beautiful cabinet work and an intriguing antique collection. A unique feature is the smoke room on the second floor — serviced by the huge fireplace in the keeping room. The House is on the National Register of Historic Places. The history of the House and Property has been chronicled by historian Jim Ignasher. The Smith-Appleby House Museum is open for tours during scheduled events, or tours may be arranged (for individuals or groups) upon request. The Smith-Appleby House Museum is owned by, and is the headquarters of the Historical Society of Smithfield, a registered 501(c)(3) tax-exempt non-profit organization. Google Map
Website

Spring Lake Beach & Arcade, Boat Launch

Spring Lake Beach Facility50 Old Hillside Dr. Glendale, RI  02826  401-568-9474    95 acre lake. Fishing, boat & canoe launch, gravel slope ramp, no outboard motors; lake swimming, penny arcade machines from 1920 and 1930. The boat ramp is at the end of the southernmost arm. As you head north from the ramp the lake opens up into a 1/2 mile long, 1/3 mile wide water body. Some of the shoreline, including the boat ramp, are in the RI DEM Black Hut Management Area, however much of the shoreline is not and is lined with houses and a town beach. Only non-motorized boats and boats powered by an electric motor are permitted. The boat ramp is a cement plank ramp in good condition. Weddings are held at the Champlin Recreation Hall with a capacity of 300 and they are same sex friendly for weddings. Google Map
Website

St. Ann’s Cultural Center

St. Ann's Cultural Center84 Cumberland St., PO Box 79 Woonsocket, RI 02895 401-356-0713 St. Ann Arts & Cultural Center is Woonsocket’s own Sistine Chapel, with city ancestors looking down from the historic walls. Ornate stained glass and fresco paintings cover every wall of the restored building, now run as community-based non-profit.  Currently the center is open every Sunday with tours between 1 and 4. They serve dinners and do performances in the former church and in the basement below, which has a full bar (including liquor license) and a stage, complete with a large dressing room.  All of the facilities are available for rent, with accommodations for performances, special events, and weddings. Google Map
Website

Steere Hill & Phillips Farm

Putnam Pike, Rte. 44 Glocester, RI The Steere Hill area is comprised of four abutting parcels acquired from 1967 to 2010 with a total of 448 acres.  Steere Hill is open year round from sunrise to sunset. During the winter months it is open for snowshoeing and cross country skiing. In warm weather Steere Hill is a popular place for horseback riding, jogging, geocaching, dog walks, and casual walks. The 68 acre Phillips Farm was the first property acquired by the GLT in 1990. Phillips Farm is an historic homestead that was known variously through the years as Phillips Farm, Cutler Farm, and Cutler’s Tavern. Before the 1920’s this farm was the Cutler Farm and the site of the historic Cutler Inn and Tollbooth. The area encompasses a variety of different habitats including wetlands, forest, and open fields. The elevation of this relatively compact parcel (approximately 68 acres) varies sufficiently so that many excellent views of the natural features are afforded over a short walk. Although most of the trees are second growth, many have reached full maturity; among them is a stand of American beech. There is also an apple orchard that is over 100 years old. The extensive streamside wetlands support a diversity of ferns and flowering plants which bloom in succession from early spring well into the summer. West of Phillips Farm is the 208 acre Steere Hill Nature Preserve acquired in 2002. During the early 20th Century, both Phillips Farm and Steere Hill were used for orchards, hayfields, woodlots, and livestock. Recently the GLT has created wildlife habitat of tall native grasses for threatened ground nesting bird species in Phillips Farm and the summit of Steere Hill. West of Steere Hill is Heritage Park, a 115 acres woodland acquired by the Town of Glocester in 1967 as part of the state’s Green Acres program. South of Heritage Park is the 57 acre LePlat Woodland acquired by the GLT in 2010. Google Map
Website

Valentine Whitman House

Valentine Whitman House1149 Great Rd. . Lincoln, RI 02865 401-333-1100  Whitman’s home is one of a few surviving “stone-end” houses built in the 17th century. Whitman was a friend of Roger Williams, founder of Rhode Island. The first town meeting of old Smithfield, which included Lincoln, was held in this house in 1730. House is open on the first Saturday of the month, 1 – 4 pm. Google Map

Valley Forge Heritage Park

Broad St. Cumberland RI 02864 Built upon the former site of the Valley Falls Textile Mill complex, the park provides a rare opportunity to see how a mill was powered by water. Scenic park-educational site located along the banks of the Blackstone River as part of the Blackstone River Valley National Heritage Corridor. Google Map

White Mill Park

White Mill ParkRte. 100, E. Wallum Lake Rd. Pascoag, RI 02859 401-568-2300 The original mill was built in 1834 and later burned. A worsted mill was erected on the site in 1895 by Arnold & Perkins using the available water power. The Mill continued under various owners until closed in the 1960’s after years of service to the community. Google Map
Website

Wright’s Dairy Farm

Wright's Dairy Farm200 Woonsocket Hill Rd. North Smithfield RI 02896 401-767-3014 1-800-222-9734  A real, working dairy farm where people can see 120 Holsteins milked daily around 3 – 5 pm. Fresh ice cream, milk, whipped cream deserts are available from the farm and on-premises bakery in addition to cream, cheese, egg nog (during holiday season), and baked goods  Monday – Saturday 8 a.m. – 7 p.m., Sunday 8 a.m. – 5 p.m. 2 Tours available. Google Map
Website